Lil Wayne Releases “Funeral”

Lil Wayne Releases “Funeral”

Lil Wayne released his highly anticipated 13th studio album, “Funeral”, on January 31st.

Coming off of the success of his previous 2018 effort, “Tha Carter V” rapper had a lot to live up to. The album in its entirety showcases the hip-hop legend’s unique vocals and constant ability to dish out impressive punchlines with ease. A few notable tracks include “Mama Mia”, “Dreams”, and “Trust Nobody” featuring Adam Levine.

Additional features include Big Sean, Lily Baby, Jay Rock, 2 Chainz, Takeoff, The Dream, Lil Twist, O.T. Genasis, and the late XXXTentacion.

Also notable on the project is Dwayne’s love for basketball. Along with the song “Harden”, the eighth track, “Bing James” featuring Jay Rock, is an obvious shout to LeBron James aka King James. The most interesting thing about this track, however, comes at the very end. While unbeknownst to many, the 24 seconds of silence at the end of track number eight is actually out of respect for the recently deceased Kobe Bryant. Bryant was tragically killed in a highly publicized helicopter crash last week, along with his daughter Gianna and seven other passengers. The fact that the 24 seconds of silence is on track number eight, is an ode to Bryant’s Laker’s jersey numbers, 8 and 24. Although the album had been completed long before Bryant’s death, Wayne decided to include the last-minute change out of respect for his late friend.

What do you think of Lil Wayne’s newest album? What are your favorite tracks? Let us know!

Leave a Reply
Your email address will not be published. *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.